Reckless Driving Accident
When a negligent and irresponsible driver doesn’t observe traffic rules and safety laws, innocent people suffer. Reckless driving can leave you or a loved one with paralysis, fractured bones, spinal injuries, burns, and more.
In such a case, you are entitled to compensation. A car accident lawyer in Orange County can help you build a strong case and hold into account the driver responsible for your loss or injuries.
What Is Considered Reckless Driving in California?
According to California’s Vehicle Code 23103 VC, reckless driving is a serious crime. The law considers reckless driving in California as a situation whereby one operates a motor vehicle with malicious disregard for the safety of property or other people.
According to California’s traffic laws, actions that constitute reckless driving include:
- Weaving in and out of traffic
- Deliberately ignoring stop signals
- Driving an unroadworthy vehicle
The misdemeanor is punishable by:
- 2 points on the driver’s license
- Up to a $1,000 fine
- A jail sentence for up to 90 days
How an Attorney Can Help
If you are a victim of aggressive driving, the party responsible for the accident should be held accountable for your losses. You have a right to claim compensation for emotional distress, medical expenses, property damage, lost earnings, and suffering experienced.
However, it isn’t always easy to prove that the driver was fully at fault in the accident. A skilled and experienced attorney can help conduct an in-depth investigation and handle the insurance company on your behalf. More importantly, they can assist you in navigating the legal process and ensure you get fair compensation.
You have the right to pursue justice if you’re a victim of reckless driving. However, you need an attorney to help prove the driver was negligent. Contact a lawyer at Brockmeier Law Group to schedule a consultation and understand more about how we can help.
Give Brockmeier Law Group a call at 310-425-3431.